Home › Folding e-bike comparisons › VARUN S20-2 Pro
Folding e-bike review · UKTable of Contents
ToggleVARUN S20-2 Pro Review: A Big-Battery, Fat-Tyre Folding E-Bike Checked for UK Riders
By eFoldBike · Updated October 2026 · Based on the Amazon UK listing and 27 verified buyer reviews · This is a research review, not a hands-on test
Advertising disclosure: this review contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the score a bike gets. How we make money.
Some riders want a folding e-bike that behaves like a small off-roader: fat tyres, suspension everywhere and a battery big enough for a long Saturday ride. The VARUN S20-2 Pro folding electric bike is built for that rider, with a 624Wh battery, 20 × 4.0-inch tyres, a rack, mudguards and an NFC card lock.
I have gone through its Amazon UK listing, its spec tables and 27 buyer reviews from the UK, Germany, Italy and Spain, and compared it with six other folding e-bikes. Short version: buyers like the comfort, the power and the value, but it is the heaviest bike in our comparison, the listing never states a top speed, and the reviews include more breakdowns and parts failures than most rivals.
#5 of 7 bikes compared
Our verdict
A comfortable, well-equipped fat-tyre folder with a big battery and a 150 kg load limit. It is heavy, and you should confirm the speed limit and throttle question with the seller before you ride.
- 250W · 55Nm
- 48V 13Ah · 624Wh
- 20″ × 4.0″ fat tyres
- 7-speed
- 150 kg max load
- No throttle listed
Prices and stock change often, so I don’t quote them here. Amazon always shows the live price.
On this page
Want to check today’s price and delivery while you read?
VARUN: A Fat-Tyre Folding E-Bike Buyers Praise for Comfort and Value
VARUN sells the S20-2 Pro through its own store on Amazon. Its brand images say it sells across North America and Europe, with the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy among its main markets, and they promise a 12-month warranty and a 24-hour response from its after-sales team.
One thing to know before you read the reviews: the listing calls the model “S20-2” in one field and “S20-2 Pro” in another, and some buyers write about an “S20-1” or a “Plus” bike. The reviews appear to be pooled across more than one VARUN model, so a few of the comments below may describe a sibling bike rather than this exact one.
Colours: the listing shows black, orange and white/grey options. One buyer who ordered Black posted photos of an orange bike, so check your order confirmation. Of the 27 reviews I read, 18 were broadly positive (several of them with a specific complaint), four were mixed and five were negative. Amazon shows the current overall rating on the product page.
Features of the VARUN S20-2 Pro Folding Electric Bike
These are the specs from VARUN’s own listing, with the places where the listing contradicts itself or says nothing.
Weight and folding
The spec table says 30 kg and the size chart says 68.3 lb, which is about 31 kg. Either way, it is the heaviest published weight in our comparison, and one German buyer says the delivery parcel weighed 37.8 kg. The bullets say it folds “in seconds” to fit car boots and trains, but at 30 kg most people will need help lifting it into a boot, and it is not a bike to carry up stairs every day.
VARUN does publish a folded size, about 90 × 80 cm (35.4 × 31.5 inches), though not the folded width. One buyer folds it to keep it inside their flat, while another calls the folding system very cumbersome.
Motor and riding modes
A 250W motor with 55Nm of torque. The listing doesn’t say whether it is a hub or a mid motor, or whether it uses a torque or cadence sensor. The title lists 5 pedal-assist levels, and a bullet mentions “4 smart riding modes”, which are never named. Buyers describe plenty of power: one with a lifelong knee injury says it does a great job on inclines and helps them pull away quickly at junctions, while a German buyer found the power delivery “a little weird” and the gears almost irrelevant.
Battery and real-world range
A detachable 48V 13Ah lithium-ion battery, 624Wh, stated the same way everywhere and joint-largest in our comparison with the ENGWE EP-2 Boost. The title and bullets claim up to 120 km (75 miles) with no conditions, but VARUN’s own graphic shows that figure only in PAS1, the lowest assist level. Charge time is not stated.
The one buyer who gave a figure says the battery was empty after 45 km (28 miles). That fits the common rule of thumb of 10–15Wh per km in mixed riding, which gives roughly 26–39 miles (42–62 km) from 624Wh. Several other buyers simply say the battery lasts a long time. Estimate your own route with the RideCheck range tool.
A practical detail: the battery key switch sits under the frame, which one buyer found awkward, and another took a moment to work out the key’s lock, unlock and on positions.
Gears, brakes and suspension
Seven speeds with a trigger shifter. The spec table describes a rear derailleur, and the product photo shows an external sprocket cluster, but one image is labelled “7-Speed Hub”, so I go with the derailleur. The brakes are dual discs; the listing doesn’t say whether they are mechanical or hydraulic, and three buyers from Italy and Germany criticised them.
VARUN markets “triple suspension”: a front fork, a central mid-frame shock and a sprung saddle. The spec table says “Dual”. Buyers do find it comfortable, but one German buyer reports a faulty shock absorber alongside the brake discs.
Tyres, wheels and frame
CST 20 × 4.0-inch fat tyres on one-piece aluminium “mag” wheels, so there are no spokes to true or break. The frame is aluminium. The spec table lists snow, touring and urban use and mountain terrain. Fat tyres like these cushion potholes, gravel and wet towpaths well, and one buyer credits the tyres and suspension for a comfortable ride.
Lights, NFC lock and app
An LED headlight and a tail light that brightens when you brake, plus reflectors and a bell. These carry a German “StVZO” badge, which covers the lighting only. An NFC card unlocks the system, so the bike won’t switch on without it, and a Bluetooth app shows speed, mileage and battery. Only the display is rated IP65; no rating is given for the battery or motor. One buyer says the lights are bright enough for winter riding.
Assembly and what’s in the box
The listing names a charger, headlight, mudguards, a tool kit and a user manual, and the title and photos add a rear rack. Several buyers found assembly easy, and one praises a video on VARUN’s website. Others struggled: one couldn’t find an official tutorial online, and one German buyer had to finish the job at a bike shop. There is no water bottle mount.
Listing red flags: ask the seller before you pay
Get it in writing. This review is based on the listing and buyer reports, not a test, so confirm anything that matters to you with the seller before you pay. Send your questions through Amazon’s own messaging (the “Ask a question” button on the seller’s page), so the answer is saved in your Amazon account. If the bike that arrives doesn’t match what the seller confirmed, you have proof for a return. More in our recommendation notice.
- No top speed anywhere in the listing.Ask: “Is assistance fixed at 25 km/h (15.5 mph), and is there any throttle or throttle-only mode?” One buyer says it can be programmed to 40 km/h.
- Reviews pooled across models.Some buyers write about an S20-1 or a “Plus” bike. Ask which model and version ships with your order.
- Brake type not stated.Ask whether the discs are mechanical or hydraulic, and test both brakes carefully before your first ride.
- A 30–31 kg bike in a heavy parcel.One buyer reports a 37.8 kg parcel that a courier refused. Ask which courier delivers to the UK and how returns are collected.
- Suspension and gears described two ways.“Triple” suspension vs “Dual”, and a “hub” vs a rear derailleur. Ask for the exact parts list in writing.
Why Does the VARUN S20-2 Pro Cost What It Costs?
The S20-2 Pro sits in the upper-middle of the price range among the bikes we compared: fifth cheapest of seven when I checked, below the ENGWE and the ADO. Buyers mostly see it as good value, with several praising the price for what you get. Here is where the money goes, on paper:
- Battery: 624Wh, joint-largest in our comparison, and the battery is the most expensive part of any e-bike.
- Suspension: a front fork, a mid-frame shock and a sprung saddle, which is more than most budget folders offer.
- Equipment: rack, mudguards, a brake-signal tail light, an NFC lock and an app, all included.
- Load capacity: a published 150 kg maximum load, joint-highest in our comparison.
Where it saves: unspecified brakes, no stated sensor type, weak instructions and a weight that rules out daily carrying. You are paying for battery, comfort and kit, not for light weight or a polished listing.
How the VARUN S20-2 Pro Compares With Similar Folding Electric Bikes
Three fat-tyre folders often end up on the same shortlist as the S20-2 Pro. Here is the quick match-up. Tap a card for the full review.
VARUN wins on: a published weight, folded size and 150 kg load limit, plus a rack and extra suspension listed.
Pick ENGWE if: you want 180 mm discs, a torque sensor and a listing that says “no accelerator”.
Read the ENGWE review → vsHillMiles MilePort 14.3/10VARUN wins on: a bigger battery (624Wh vs about 468Wh), wider 4.0-inch tyres and a higher load limit.
Pick HillMiles if: you want a lighter bike (28.5 kg) with its folded width published too.
Read the HillMiles review → vsSAMEBIKE CY205.7/10VARUN wins on: 250W and 624Wh stated the same way everywhere, where SAMEBIKE lists 560W.
Pick SAMEBIKE if: budget comes first and you want the same 150 kg load limit for less.
Read the SAMEBIKE review →Want every spec side by side for all seven bikes?
Open the full comparison →Pros and Cons of the VARUN S20-2 Pro Folding Electric Bike
Pros
- A large 624Wh detachable battery, joint-largest in our comparison and stated consistently
- A buyer-reported real range of about 28 miles (45 km), in line with the rule-of-thumb estimate
- Fat 20 × 4.0-inch tyres plus fork, mid-frame shock and sprung saddle; buyers call it comfortable
- A published 150 kg maximum load, joint-highest in our comparison
- Rack, mudguards, lights and a brake-signal tail light come as standard
- NFC card lock: the bike won’t switch on without the card
- Several buyers praise the sturdy build and the value for money
- Several buyers say after-sales support replied quickly and sorted their problem
Cons
- 30–31 kg, the heaviest published weight in our comparison; several buyers call it very heavy
- No top speed in the listing, and one buyer says it can be programmed to 40 km/h (25 mph)
- Brake type not stated, and three buyers criticised the brakes
- Parts failures reported: a kickstand tip, a loose handlebar clip that injured a rider’s hand, and an “error 30” fault
- Weak assembly instructions for some buyers, and one couldn’t reach the seller
- Rider height range is narrow: buyers at 5ft 1in and 5ft 6in say they only just fit
On balance: the battery, tyres and equipment are strong for the money, and comfort gets steady praise. The weaknesses are weight, a vague listing and a worrying number of failure reports, so inspect the bike closely on arrival and keep your 30-day return window in mind.
Check the current price and delivery date:
Advantages of This Folding E-Bike
Picture the rides this bike is built for. A Sunday on a gravel canal towpath, where 4-inch tyres and three layers of cushioning smooth out the ruts. A winter commute on broken tarmac, with a bright headlight and a tail light that flares when you brake. A run to the shops with a loaded rear rack and mudguards keeping the spray off your back.
That is where the S20-2 Pro makes sense: riding from your door, not carrying the bike. The big battery means fewer charges in a week, and you can take it indoors to charge while the bike stays in the hallway or shed. One buyer with a lifelong knee injury uses low assist until their legs tire and then turns it up, which is exactly what assisted cycling is for.
Not sure a 30 kg fat-tyre folder suits your home, car and commute? The Find Your Fold quiz matches you to the right style in a few questions.
Other Benefits of the VARUN S20-2 Pro
- Theft deterrent: the NFC card lock stops the electrics working without the card. You still need a solid D-lock for the frame.
- App: speed, mileage and battery level mirrored on your phone over Bluetooth.
- Low-maintenance wheels: one-piece wheels mean no spokes to adjust, and the listing mentions a rust-proof chain.
- Bigger riders: the 150 kg limit leaves room for a heavier rider plus luggage on the rack.
- Warranty: one year from the manufacturer, stated consistently. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 gives you protection on top of that when you buy from a UK retailer.
Is the VARUN S20-2 Pro Legal on UK Roads?
In England, Scotland and Wales, an e-bike counts as an electrically assisted pedal cycle (EAPC), ridden like a normal bike with no licence, tax, registration or insurance, only if all of these are true:
A bike outside these rules is treated as a moped or motorbike. It must be registered, taxed and insured, you need a driving licence and a motorcycle helmet, it can only be ridden on the road (not in cycle lanes), and an uninsured one can be seized. A bike that can go up to 15.5 mph without pedalling (a “twist and go”) is only legal if it has vehicle approval, and then it carries an approval number. A legal e-bike must also be marked with its continuous rated power and its manufacturer, plus either the battery voltage or the maximum assisted speed, so look for that label when the bike arrives. A legal EAPC can use cycle paths and anywhere else bicycles are allowed, but never the pavement. The government also decided in January 2025 not to raise the limit to 500W or allow throttles up to 15.5 mph without type approval. The official summary is on GOV.UK: electric bike rules.
Our reading of the VARUN S20-2 Pro: a 250W motor, “Pedal Assistance” as the assist type and no throttle in the title, bullets or spec table put it inside the EAPC rules on paper. But the listing never states a top speed (only a display photo shows 25 km/h), and the “StVZO” badge is a German standard that covers the lights, not the bike. That is why I rate it “check before riding”.
One check: ask the seller to confirm in writing that assistance stops at 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and that there is no throttle-only mode beyond walking pace. Then never reprogram it.
The buyer reviews raise three flags. One German buyer says the bike can be programmed to 40 km/h (25 mph). Another says a downloadable manual explains how to reconfigure it so it moves without pedalling up to 6 km/h (about 4 mph) as a push assist, and warns that a twist throttle must not be fitted. A UK buyer expected a throttle on what they call a “Plus” model. A 6 km/h push assist is generally accepted, but any change that lifts the speed limit or adds a throttle turns it into an unregistered motor vehicle, so don’t do it.
This is general information, not legal advice. These are the rules for Great Britain; Northern Ireland’s are broadly the same, so check nidirect if you live there. Want every pre-purchase check in one place, from legality to whether it fits your boot? The free checklist below covers it.
What Buyers Are Saying About the VARUN S20-2 Pro Folding Electric Bike
I read 27 verified-purchase reviews: 12 from the UK, 10 from Germany, 4 from Italy and 1 from Spain (I translated the non-English ones). Most praise the comfort, the power and the value. The complaints are more serious than on the top-ranked bikes: brakes, parts coming loose, electrical faults and delivery trouble with a very heavy parcel.
Superb build quality and great value; arrived in 3 days, well packed, and simple to build with VARUN’s video
Very heavy; took a moment to work out the key’s lock, unlock and on positions
Lifelong knee injury: starts in low assist and turns it up as their legs tire; strong on inclines and quick away from junctions; folds to fit in their flat
Big tyres and suspension make a comfortable ride; clear display; lights bright enough for winter and night riding
At 5ft 1in they only just fit the bike
Very solid, rides comfortably, fine for the price
Battery empty after 45 km (28 miles), well short of the claimed range
Very good bike; the service team answered within a few hours
Brake discs and shock absorber not right; says it can be programmed to 40 km/h (25 mph), which would be illegal on UK roads
Great customer service, a delight to ride, long battery life, bright lights
Stopped working after the one-year warranty ended and keeps showing “error 30”
Full refund paid quickly
Listing never says clearly if it is a legal pedelec; the 37.8 kg parcel was too heavy for standard couriers, so delivery and the return both went wrong
Started falling apart after 2 months: handlebar clip came loose while riding and injured their hand, stand foot fell off, pedals clunk; still waiting for parts
Opinions summarised and paraphrased from verified-purchase reviews on Amazon.co.uk, including reviews from other countries shown on the same page, read in October 2026. Non-English reviews are my own translations. No buyer names are used. Some reviews mention an S20-1 or a “Plus” model, so the listing appears to pool reviews across VARUN models. A second buyer also reports the kickstand’s plastic tip falling off after six weeks.
The pattern: buyers love the ride, the tyres and the power, and support often responds fast. The weak spots are the brakes, small parts such as the kickstand and handlebar clip, and the electrics. Check every bolt and both brakes the day it arrives, and report any fault within the 30-day return window.
Already own the VARUN S20-2 Pro?
Tell other readers how it really performs in the comments. Real owner numbers help people decide better than any marketing claim.
- What range do you actually get, in which assist level and on what kind of route?
- Are your brakes mechanical or hydraulic, and how do they feel in the wet?
- Has your kickstand, handlebar clamp or electrics given you any trouble?
Before you buy any folding e-bike, run the 5-minute check
The free UK Folding E-Bike Buyer’s Checklist helps you avoid a 20 kg mistake:
- Will it fit your stairs, car boot and train?
- What range will you really get?
- Is it legal on UK roads?
Free PDF by email. Unsubscribe anytime.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the real range of the VARUN S20-2 Pro?
Plan on about 28 miles (45 km), not 75. The listing claims up to 120 km (75 miles), but its own graphic links that figure to PAS1, the lowest assist level. The only buyer who gave a number says the battery was empty after 45 km. The 624Wh battery and a rule of thumb of 10–15Wh per km point to roughly 26–39 miles (42–62 km).
How heavy is the VARUN S20-2 Pro?
About 30–31 kg, the heaviest published weight in our seven-bike comparison. The spec table says 30 kg and the size chart says 68.3 lb, which is about 31 kg. One German buyer says the delivery parcel weighed 37.8 kg. Several buyers call it very heavy for a folding bike, so plan to ride it from your door rather than carry it.
Does the VARUN S20-2 Pro have a throttle?
No throttle is listed, but check before you ride. The title, bullets and spec table never mention one, and the assist type is “Pedal Assistance”. However, one buyer says the bike can be programmed to 40 km/h, another describes a manual for reconfiguring a push-assist mode, and a UK buyer expected a throttle on a “Plus” model. Ask the seller to confirm in writing.
Is the VARUN S20-2 Pro suitable for shorter riders?
It may be a stretch if you are under about 5ft 2in. The size chart recommends riders of 5ft 5in to just over 6ft (165–185 cm), while the spec table gives a minimum height of 5.18 feet, about 5ft 2in. One 5ft 1in buyer says they only just fit, and another says it only just fits a 5ft 6in partner.
Conclusions on This Folding E-Bike
The VARUN S20-2 Pro folding electric bike suits a rider who wants a comfortable, fully equipped fat-tyre bike and rides from home: towpaths, gravel tracks, potholed back roads and shopping runs with the rack loaded. The big battery and 150 kg load limit make it one of the more capable bikes in our comparison on paper.
It is the wrong choice if you need to lift it often or want the least legal doubt. For the same battery size with a clearer no-throttle listing, the ENGWE EP-2 Boost is the better fit; if weight matters most, look at the ADO Air 20.
Here is how I scored it from the listing data and the buyer reports:
- Value 6: a big battery, extra suspension and plenty of kit for an upper-middle price.
- Comfort 6: fat tyres and suspension get steady praise, but sizing suits a narrow height range.
- Range 4: the only real figure, 28 miles (45 km), is well below the 75-mile headline.
- Build 4: brake complaints, kickstand and handlebar-clip failures, and electrical faults reported.
- Portability 4: it folds, but 30–31 kg is the heaviest published weight here.
- UK legality 6: no throttle listed and 250W, but no stated top speed and buyer talk of reprogramming.
Overall: 5.0 out of 10, fifth of the seven folding e-bikes we have compared. Confirm the speed limit and brake type with the seller, inspect it closely on arrival, and it can be a comfortable, well-equipped ride for the money.
See the current price and delivery options:
How we review: eFoldBike doesn’t test bikes in person. We analyse each Amazon UK listing, its specification tables and verified-purchase reviews, check the claims against UK e-bike law, and score six areas out of 10. Where a listing contradicts itself we report it instead of choosing the better-sounding figure. Specs checked October 2026. Listings change, so confirm the details on Amazon before you buy. Spotted an error? Brands, sellers and readers can contact us, and we correct verified mistakes quickly. See our recommendation notice.
VARUN S20-2 Pro Folding Electric Bike
- 【Smart NFC Lock and Dashboard App】Deter uk bike thieves with the advanced nfc digital lock on this varun electric bike. …
- 【Triple Suspension and 4.0 Fat Tyres】 Experience maximum riding comfort with the full suspension system on this fat tyre…
- 【Powerful Motor and 120km Range】 Driven by a high-performance 250w motor with 55nm torque, this rugged e-bike masters st…
Advertising disclosure: this table contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you.”
